What Motivates You?

Today, my internship supervisor asked me this question, just purely out of curiosity – no pressure intended.

This is a "thought bubble". It is an...

My mind when my supervisor was asking me questions… (Photo credit: Wikipedia)curiosity – no pressure intended.

I know it’s one of those job interview questions that it seems like every twenty-something on the job hunt should be prepared to answer. And if it was a job interview, I probably would have come up with something on the spot that was canned and stilted and not true to myself, but had to do with the job I was after. Typically, I’m that prepared sort of person, but I found that when I really, truly thought about this question, I had no idea.

What motivates me? I mean, I kind of know. I know when I’m feeling motivated to accomplish tasks. Deadlines motivate me, but that makes me sound like a procrastinator. Money motivates me, but that makes me sound like I don’t care about anything but getting rich. Grades motivate me, but what the hell does that matter after I’m out of school?

So seriously. What motivates me? What motivates you?

I’ve been thinking about this all day after I embarrassed myself at my internship by not being to articulate a response off the cuff. What motivates me?

I still don’t think I have an answer. In an attempt to help me solve this riddle, my supervisor started asking me more questions to try to narrow it down.

I thought I had the answer — success motivates me! But isn’t success one of those abstract concepts that is measured differently based on the person? By that I mean, the next question was “How do you measure your success?” (I failed epically – again.)

Even eight hours later, I’ve still got nothing! No wonder I have no clue where I want to end up in my career, or in my life!

So here’s my challenge to you all: Figure out what your motivation is, and then use it to help you identify what you have to do with your life to take advantage of that motivation.

Good luck. I’ll get back to you when I’ve got it figured out!

4 responses to “What Motivates You?

  1. Pingback: The Essence of all Motivations | The Resting Soul

  2. Pingback: How to Motivate Yourself | The Journey Starts

  3. Pingback: 10 Motivational Tips getting you on the road to success | I Love Life, Beauty, Fashion & Fitness

  4. Pingback: 10 Questions To Make You Think – May | The Happiness Box

Leave a Reply

