WHOA. Things have been happening…

Hello! I apologize for going off the map there for a while. I’ve taken some time to really focus on my career path, and things have been happening!

I am now working a job as a multimedia designer at my new college while also completing my master’s in instructional technology and design. I’m a substitute teacher, and, perhaps most excitingly…

I’M A FREELANCE WRITER. As in, getting PAID to WRITE.

This probably isn’t very exciting for the general public, but it’s a huge success for me. It’s definitely not the path I had imagined for myself when I was doing my undergrad at Penn State, but I’m so happy to be getting work published professionally, even if it is reporting. Everyone has to start somewhere!

I don’t hate being a reporter, but my true writing “passion” is creative. I’m hoping that freelancing can be a stepping stone into a full time job with my paper or at a magazine of some type. That’s not for a LONG time, however.

So, being a teacher, I’m going to make this a “teachable moment” for anyone stopping by to read this. KEEP trying and DO NOT give up! And do whatever you can to get your name out there to as many people as possible. I’ve already had at least three people ask me for my business card while on a freelancing assignment.

Lastly, to anyone still in college who’s facing a choice about what path to take… do as much as you can WITHOUT spreading yourself too thin. I majored in education, but I also worked at my college paper despite not being a communications major. I was also really interested in graphic design, so my electives were all in the vein.

I was really lucky to be able to pursue so many interests, and I am extremely lucky to still be able to do all the things I love now. It might not be the typical full time day-to-day job, but hey! Variety is the spice of life, right?
P.S. – I have now re-launched my website! Due to financial constraints, it’s not my own .com address, but I’m hoping to soon be able to do that. For now, you can find me (and my published works!) at katrinamwehr.weebly.com!

2 thoughts on “WHOA. Things have been happening…

  1. I would LOVE to do freelance writing! How did you get into it? So far my blog has gotten a fairly good audience, which has increased my confidence. I really enjoy it. But making a little money for writing certainly wouldn’t be a bad thing. I work at a university as a library assistant right now, but my real love is writing. Congrats to you!

    • I was heavily involved in journalism at my university, so many of the people who graduated before me work at the paper that initially picked me up and were able to keep my name floating around their editors. I also wrote for the youth opinion column when I was in high school so I had contacts that way as well. It is so rewarding to finally be considered a “paid writer!” I love it. I also work in a library to pay for my grad school tuition! Small world! Just keep at it, and start small. Write letters to the editor and try to get published consistently. Go to your local township or county meetings, like school board, supervisors, planning commissions, etc. There’s always going to be at least one reporter there from a local news outlet. There’s no where to go but up!

Leave a Reply

