Separating author from story

One of my goals for this year is to finish my work-in-progress by the end of the summer. By finish, I mean publication ready, whether that means marketing to agents or self publishing it.

Exciting, I know!

However, I am finding it difficult to tell my story in a way that will be appealing to all readers, and I think it’s because it’s such a personal story. I don’t want to give away too many details just yet, but the plotline involves my main character overcoming grief and demons regarding her grandmother’s passing which resurface with the failing health of her grandfather. She thought she’d dealt with all her problems and overcome her emotions, but now she realizes that all she did was shut them out. Cue philosophical, life-changing emotional growth!

That’s only one story arc of two or three that I’m currently playing with, but the story is so personal to me that I am getting in my own way of telling it. I plan to make this an homage to my grandparents who have passed, and as a result I have given my MC’s grandparents many of their qualities and sometimes deviate into unnecessary vignettes, etc. that don’t contribute to my plot or move my story ahead. BUT THEY’RE IMPORTANT TO ME! Just not the reader! 🙂 (Side note: See my “Words to Write By” in the upper right — I picked that quote because I feel it’s very fitting to my issue right now!)

So my challenge is finding a way to stay true to what I’ve set out to do in a way that I can live with and still tell a compelling story.

Anyone experienced this or have tips for getting over it? They’d be much appreciated!

3 thoughts on “Separating author from story

  1. I wish you luck with this challenge. I recently (very recently, as in just this past December) embarked on finishing a rough draft of a stroy that I had swimming around in my head for years. It was the hardest thing ever for to do because as I had thought up the idea years before, it was extremely ironic that my life came to mirror the book. I struggled all the way through the draft and was so glad when I finally finished it so I could bury it away for a while. My life always seemed to take over the book. Let me know if you discover how to seperate the two….that is a most challenging quest.

    ~ O

    • Don’t worry, I’m sure there will be many updates regarding this WIP. I’ve never finished something this big before, and I’m hoping that talking about it on here and other websites will help me feel more obligated to do so. 🙂 Best of luck with your own draft! Thanks for the words of encouragement and happy writing!

      • Announcing my attempt to write my draft among my friends and family was helped me. Like you said, you feel obligated to finish what you started and you will find you have a wonderful support team as you make your way through.

        ~ O

Leave a Reply

