Book-less libraries?

BiblioTech

A drawing of what BiblioTech might look like.

This article is about a library in San Antonio, TX that won’t have any books.

What? A library without books? Blasphemy!!

However, this library is going to be a technological wonder. Yes, check out that picture over there – the Steve Jobs-inspired project will be an “eLibrary.” They’re calling it BiblioTech, a library that will only circulate eBooks. Members can rent eReaders, or bring their own devices to sync up with the library. In addition, there would be computer stations, tablets, and eReaders available for on-site use too.

So what do you think? A library without books. I don’t know about you all, but I loved going to the library in college and just wandering around in the stacks. I still love the library – at the rate I read books, it just doesn’t make financial sense to buy them. And there’s something about a physical book in my hands that I just get when I use my Nook.

But on the other hand, there would be no more waiting lists to check out new releases or books that have become popular. So no more of the disappointment that follows when I run into the library to get the next Gone novel or check out the latest Emily Giffin book!

Share your own thoughts on the BiblioTech in the comments!

Here’s the link one more time! http://news.yahoo.com/library-without-books-bibliotech-open-193118588–abc-news-tech.html

2 thoughts on “Book-less libraries?

  1. Pingback: Why Printed Books Will Never Die | Writing My Next Chapter

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Mind the Gap | Writing My Next Chapter

Leave a Reply

