Censorship Bans Lifted in Turkey

In the spirit of following up on the post I made about censoring books in schools earlier this week, I thought I’d share this article, which I found through Publishing Trendsetter (a great resource that was suggested to me by eemusings in my last post about landing publishing internships! By the way, keep that advice coming!).

Here’s the link: http://www.mhpbooks.com/turkey-lifts-ban-on-thousands-of-books/

It’s about how censorship bans on tons of books in Turkey were recently lifted, allowing citizens access to loads of new reading material.

Now, I’m born and raised in the U.S., where our freedom of expression is often taken for granted. It’s always jarring for me to hear about these types of censorship stories in other countries. Especially as a journalist and implicit defender of first-amendment rights (freedom of speech, expression, press, etc.), these types of things hit home for me. I couldn’t imagine life without my basic liberties, and bless all of you who are from countries where these rights are not guaranteed.

Leave a Reply

