Pinterest in Writing

Happy Monday everyone!

I wanted to let you in on something I just started up last week as I was stalling on my current WIP.

I created a private board on Pinterest to post inspirational photos related to my characters, setting, and themes. At first I thought it would just be a distraction and an excuse for me not to work on my manuscript, but it was actually beneficial. Pinterest_Favicon

For those who aren’t already clued in, Pinterest is basically like having all the corkboards you could possibly want, each devoted to its own topic, and then having access to all the pictures/articles/media in the world to tack on the boards. Popular boards revolve around planning one’s wedding, or finding photos of outfits or work clothes you love, places you want to visit, ways to decorate your home, craft ideas… I could go on and on. I love Pinterest, but the idea of using it as inspiration for my story had not occurred to me before.

I highly recommend this to anyone just starting out on their stories. There are LOADS of photos on Pinterest, and it’s easy to find things that match the description in your head of your character, or their home or school or workplace. It makes writing so much easier when you’re blocked!

Does any of you guys already use Pinterest to kickstart your writing? Does it sound like something you might try, or are you too easily distracted by the interwebz? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Pinterest in Writing

    • It’s so helpful when I get into one of those ruts, or if I’m establishing a new scene or character. I love it! Thanks for commenting. Let me know how it goes if you do try it!

  1. Pingback: My Book-less Semester: Week 1 | Writing My Next Chapter

Leave a Reply

